In addition to Academic Council, the University’s governance structure includes four sub-committees of the Court of Governors.

Each sub-committee has specific responsibilities, delegated by the Court and defined in the committee terms of reference.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee reviews the work of the external and internal auditors of the University. The Committee considers detailed reports on risk management, control, governance and value for money, together with recommendations for the improvement of the University’s systems of internal control and management’s response and implementation plans. It also receives and considers reports from the Office for Students and monitors adherence with the regulatory requirements. It reviews the University’s annual financial statements and accounting policies.

Members: Matthew Smith (Chair), Fiona Ross (Deputy Chair), Karen Dunnell, Victoria Foster, Jameela Khan (non-governor member), Helen Owen

Meeting dates 2020-21: 15 September 2020, 12 November 2020, 26 January 2021, 23 March 2021, 15 June 2021

Finance and Resources Committee

The Finance and Resources Committee advises the Court on strategic matters related to the human, financial, digital and physical resources of the University, oversees associated strategies and acts on delegated authority from the Court to approve proposals within the parameters set out in the Financial Regulations.

Members: Gary Morley (Chair), Simon Wylie (Deputy Chair), Justin Bairamian, Peter Bonfield, David Hoyle (non-governor member), Tim Lovell, Kate McLeod (non-governor member), David Stanton, Philomine Wales

Meeting dates 2020-21: 17 September 2020, 12 November 2020, 18 February 2021, 29 April 2021, 24 June 2021

Governance and Nominations Committee

The Governance and Nominations Committee advises the Court on the effectiveness of governance structures and arrangements, appointment of new members, the terms of existing members as well as the perceived skills balance required on the Court and its committees. The Committee also makes nominations for other relevant roles and awards.

Members: Di Yeo (Chair), Lin Phillips (Deputy Chair), Peter Bonfield, John Cappock, David Cheeseman, Graham Meikle, Mei Xin Wang

Meeting dates 2020-21: 9 September 2020, 3 March 2021, 19 May 2021

Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee reviews the salaries, terms and conditions of employment, and performance measures for members of the University Executive Board.

Members: David Cheeseman (Chair), Karen Dunnell (Deputy Chair), Matthew Appleton (non-governor member), Gary Morley, Mei Xin Wang, Di Yeo

Meeting dates 2020-21: 9 December 2020, 28 April 2021, 4 August 2021