The University is a Company Limited by Guarantee and an exempt Charity. The governance of the University is led by the Court of Governors within the framework set out in the Memorandum and Articles of Association, standing orders and committee terms of reference. The University is committed to good governance and has formally adopted the HE Code of Governance.

Memorandum and Articles of Association

The Memorandum and Articles of Association define the University’s objects, structure, powers and responsibilities. They include rules for the constitution and conduct of the Court, Academic Council, and their committees. They also define the responsibilities of the Vice-Chancellor and President and rules for University functions such as appointment, suspension and dismissal of staff. The Memorandum and Articles of Association are approved by the Court of Governors.

Download the University's current Memorandum and Articles of Association: 

Standing orders

Specific procedures for the government and conduct of the University are set out in the Standing Orders.

Scheme of delegation for signing certain categories of contract and for authenticating non-contractual documents

Provides information on the suspension or dismissal of members of staff and appeal against such suspension or dismissal.

Provides information on membership of the Court of Governors and appointment of the Chancellor.

Provides information on matters reserved for the Court, the Court's committee structure and committee procedures.

Court of Governors

The Court of Governors approves the University’s long-term objectives and strategies and provides overall financial and organisational control. The Court comprises independent (non-executive) governors, elected staff governors, an elected student governor, and two ex officio governors (the Vice-Chancellor and the Provost). The Governors are also directors of the University in its status as a company and trustees of the University in its status as a charity.

Academic Council

The Academic Council, chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, is the senior academic body of the University. It is responsible for the policies which govern the University’s academic programmes and activities and for the quality assurance processes which underpin these. It approves policies for the support of students, codes of behaviour, disciplinary and appeals procedures.