View our case for support for the project below.


The Soho Poly, based in our Lower Titchfield Street building from 1972-1990, was one of London’s most important post-war alternative theatre venues. Simon Callow, Caryl Churchill, Timberlake Wertenbaker and Nigel Hawthorne were just some of those who launched their careers there. The theatre was ahead of its time in promoting diverse voices, supporting BME, LGTBQ+ practitioners, and women in particular. It is also one of the very last venues from the period that exists in its original form - a site of significant historical importance for London.

Soho Poly restoration project visualisation

Since 2012, we have successfully revived the Soho Poly Theatre, by running pop-up arts festivals, gigs, play-readings, poetry events, book launches and exhibitions. We have also engaged in vital outreach work. For example: free lockdown workshops to the older people’s charity, Open Age, and the Fitzrovia Centre, and a new initiative to work with schools on the delivery of career guidance in the arts. 

And people are beginning to take notice. The Soho Poly ‘online’ had over 1.5K visits to its ‘lockdown play’ Dance, which was featured on the BBC’s Quarantine in Culture site and chosen as one of the Guardian’s Top Tips for lockdown drama.

Please see more Soho Poly testimonials here.

Soho Poly restoration project

Find out more about the Soho Poly restoration project, including our bids for funding the restoration and how you can donate .

Watch this video to find out more about Soho Poly and the restoration project: