The University of Westminster's academic year is divided into two semesters. Key dates are detailed below.

Semester 1 – Autumn (Fall) 2020*

Date Event

Saturday 12 September (from 2pm)

University accommodation check-in for full-year students only

Monday 14 September

Study Abroad Orientation with Education Abroad Team

Tuesday 17 to Friday 20 September

Inductions, enrolment and module registration with the School or Department you will studying with

Tuesday 15 September to Friday 18 September

Study Abroad Registration appointment and finalisation of module choices

Monday 21 September

Online classes begin

Friday 11 December

Classes end

Saturday 12 December to Sunday 3 January 2021

Winter vacation

Monday 4 to Friday 15 January

Semester 1 Exam Period

Monday 22 February

Publication of results: transcripts for Semester 1 students will be released from this date

* Please note that due to the Covid19 Pandemic, dates may be subject to change

ǂ Items marked with this symbol denote the optional social programme. Details of the costs for this programme are found on the study abroad social programme page. You can choose to join all of the social activities or sign up for individual events. Details on how to sign up for events are also given on the social programme page.

*Please note: Students will be invited to attend a welcome party on either the Wednesday or Thursday of orientation week. We will advise students which date they have been allocated to during the orientation.

** Please note: Students studying in Semester 1 only will be set alternative assessment for any modules with formal examinations normally sat after the winter vacation. This means it may be possible to complete all assessment before the start of the winter vacation. Students will be able to leave from the end of teaching (Friday 13 December). Semester 1 contract dates for housing end at the official end date of the semester and any student selecting the option to live in University accommodation does so on the express understanding that they are liable for the full contracted period.

Please note: Some coursework deadlines may be set in the first half of January. Students with deadlines after the winter vacation but who have to leave London before these deadlines should endeavour to complete all assessment before they leave.

Semester 2 – Spring 2021

Date Event

Saturday 9 January (from 2pm)

University accommodation check-in

Sunday 10 January

Welcome to London Tour ǂ

Monday 11 January

Exchange Student Orientation with the Education Abroad Team

Tuesday 12 January

Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes tour ǂ

Tuesday 12 to Friday 15 January

Study Abroad Registration appointment and finalisation of module choices

Wednesday 13 January

Internship Orientation (Students on Westminster Study Abroad Internship programme only

Wednesday 13 or Thursday 14 January

Welcome party*

Saturday 16 January

Stonehenge and Salisbury ǂ

Monday 18 January

Classes begin

Friday 29 January

Edinburgh 3-day weekend ǂ

Saturday 13 February

Harry Potter Studio Tour day trip ǂ

Thursday 1 April

Gala Farewell Celebration

TFriday 9 April

Classes end

Monday 10 to Friday 25 April

Spring vacation

Monday 26 April to Friday 14 May

Semester 2 Exam Period

Monday 17 May

Final coursework deadline for modules without exams

Friday 22 May

Semester 2 ends

Saturday 22 May (by 10am)

Final University accommodation check-out for Full Year and Semester 2 students

Monday 14 June

Publication of results: transcripts for Semester 2 and Full-Year students will be released from this date

ǂ Items marked with this symbol denote the optional social programme. Details of the costs for this programme are found on the study abroad social programme page. You can choose to join all of the social activities or sign up for individual events. Details on how to sign up for events are also given on the social programme page.

*Please note: Students will be invited to attend a welcome party on either the Wednesday or Thursday of orientation week. We will advise students which date they have been allocated to during the orientation.

** The offering may be subject to change and our ability to offer this aspect of the programme will be conditional on safety advice relating to the Covid19 pandemic.