The University of Westminster's academic year is divided into two semesters. Key dates are detailed below.

Semester 1 – Autumn (Fall) 2019

Date Event

Saturday 14 September (from 2pm)

University accommodation check-in

Saturday 15 September

Welcome to London Tour ǂ

Monday 16 September

Exchange Student Orientation with the Education Abroad Team

Tuesday 17 to Friday 20 September

Inductions, enrolment and module registration with the School or Department you will studying with

Tuesday 17 September

Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes tour ǂ

Wednesday 17 September to Friday 20 September

Study Abroad Registration appointment and finalisation of module choices

Wednesday 18 or Thursday 19 September

Welcome party*

Saturday 21 September

Stonehenge and Salisbury ǂ

Monday 23 September

Classes begin

Friday 4 October

Edinburgh 3-day weekend ǂ

Saturday 19 October

Harry Potter Studio Tour ǂ

Thursday 12 December

Gala Farewell Celebration

Friday 13 December

Classes end

Monday 16 December to Friday 3 January

Winter vacation

Monday 6 to Friday 17 January 2020

Semester 1 Exam Period** (full year students only)

Saturday 11 January (by 10am)

Final University accommodation check-out for Semester 1 students

Monday 24 February (TBC)

Transcripts will be released from this date

ǂ Items marked with this symbol denote the optional social programme. Details of the costs for this programme are found on the study abroad social programme page. You can choose to join all of the social activities or sign up for individual events. Details on how to sign up for events are also given on the social programme page.

*Please note: Students will be invited to attend a welcome party on either the Wednesday or Thursday of orientation week. We will advise students which date they have been allocated to during the orientation.

** Please note: Students studying in Semester 1 only will be set alternative assessment for any modules with formal examinations normally sat after the winter vacation. This means it may be possible to complete all assessment before the start of the winter vacation. Students will be able to leave from the end of teaching (Friday 13 December). Semester 1 contract dates for housing end at the official end date of the semester and any student selecting the option to live in University accommodation does so on the express understanding that they are liable for the full contracted period.

Please note: Some coursework deadlines may be set in the first half of January. Students with deadlines after the winter vacation but who have to leave London before these deadlines should endeavour to complete all assessment before they leave.

Semester 2 – Spring 2020

Date Event

Saturday 11 January (from 2pm)

University accommodation check-in

Sunday 12 January

Welcome to London Tour ǂ

Monday 13 January

Exchange Student Orientation with the Education Abroad Team

Tuesday 14 January

Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes tour ǂ

Tuesday 14 – Friday 17 January

Inductions, enrolment and module registration with the School or Department you will studying with

Wednesday 15 or Thursday 16 January

Welcome party*

Saturday 18 January

Stonehenge and Salisbury ǂ

Monday 20 January

Classes begin

Friday 31 January

Edinburgh 3-day weekend ǂ

Saturday 15 February

Harry Potter Studio Tour day trip ǂ

Wednesday 8 April

Gala Farewell Celebration

Thursday 9 April

Classes end

Monday 13 to Friday 24 April

Spring vacation

Monday 27 April to Friday 15 May

Semester 2 Exam Period

Monday 18 May

Final coursework deadline for modules without exams

Friday 22 May

Semester 2 ends

Saturday 23 May (by 10am)

Final University accommodation check-out for Full Year and Semester 2 students

Monday 15 June to Friday 19 June

Transcripts will be available for release during this period

ǂ Items marked with this symbol denote the optional social programme. Details of the costs for this programme are found on the study abroad social programme page. You can choose to join all of the social activities or sign up for individual events. Details on how to sign up for events are also given on the social programme page.

*Please note: Students will be invited to attend a welcome party on either the Wednesday or Thursday of orientation week. We will advise students which date they have been allocated to during the orientation.