Programme dates

Semester 1 2016–17

Saturday 17 September 2016 (from 2pm)

University accommodation check-in

Monday 19 September – Friday 23 September 2016

Orientation/registration week

Monday 26 September 2016

Classes begin

Friday 16 December 2016

Classes end

Monday 19 December – Friday 6 January 2017

Winter vacation

10 January – 20 January 2017

Semester 1 exam period* (full-year students only)

14 January 2017

Final University accommodation check-out for Semester 1 students (by 10am)

TBC

Transcript release to be confirmed

*Please note: Students studying in semester one only will be set alternative assessment in the case of a module with an exam. This means it may be possible to complete all assessment before the start of the winter vacation. Students will be able to leave from this date. Semester one contract dates for housing end at the official end date of the semester and any student selecting the option to live in University accommodation does so on the express understanding that they are liable for the full contracted period.

Please also note: Some coursework deadlines may be set in the first half of January. Students with deadlines after the winter vacation who have to leave London before these deadlines should endeavour to complete all assessment before they leave. If a student decides not to do this, the student must ensure that they submit the assessment via the agreed method of submission by the UK time of the deadline (ie Greenwich Meantime).

Semester 2 2016–17

Saturday 14 January 2017 (from 2pm)

University accommodation check-in

Monday 16 January – Friday 20 January 2017

Orientation/registration week

Monday 23 January 2017

Classes begin

Thursday 13 April 2017

Classes end

17 April – 28 April 2017

Spring vacation

Wednesday 3 May 2017

Exam period begins

Friday 19 May 2017

Exam period ends

Monday 22 May 2017

Final coursework deadline for modules without exams

Friday 26 May 2017

Semester 2 ends

Saturday 27 May 2017 (by 10am)

University accommodation check-out

Thursday 15 June 2017

Transcripts will be released from this date

Please note: Under the Academic Regulations of the University of Westminster it is not possible for any study abroad student to sit an alternative form of assessment in semester two. If a student is studying with us for semester two or the full year, the student is required to undertake exams if these form part of the module assessment.

Details of the provisional academic year dates for 2017-18.