Application deadlines

For the semester beginning in September or the Summer Programme beginning in June/July: 1 May

For the semester beginning in January: 15 October

2020–21 Study Abroad programme dates

The dates of the programme follow those of the University’s academic year. If you choose to study with us in Semester 1 (Fall) and you need to return to re-commence your degree at your home school in January, our programme is designed to facilitate this.

Semester 1 – Fall 2020*

Date Event
Saturday 12 September (from 2pm) University accommodation check-in for full year students only
Monday 14 September Study Abroad Orientation with Education Abroad Team
Tuesday 15 September to Friday 18 September Study Abroad Registration appointment and finalisation of module choices
Monday 21 September Online classes begin
Friday 11 December Classes end
Saturday 12 December to Sunday 3 January 2021 Winter vacation
Monday 4 to Friday 15 January Semester 1 Exam Period** (full-year students only)
Monday 22 February Publication of results: transcripts for Semester 1 students will be released from this date

* Please note that due to the Covid19 Pandemic, dates may be subject to change.

Semester 2 – Spring 2021

Date Event
Saturday 9 January (from 2pm) University accommodation check-in
Sunday 10 January Welcome to London Tour ǂ
Monday 11 January Study Abroad Orientation with Education Abroad Team
Tuesday 12 January Jack the Ripper and Sherlock Holmes tour ǂ
Tuesday 12 to Friday 15 January Study Abroad Registration appointment and finalisation of module choices
Wednesday 13 January Internship Orientation (Students on Westminster Study Abroad Internship programme only)
Wednesday 13 or Thursday 14 January Welcome party*
Saturday 16 January Stonehenge and Salisbury ǂ
Monday 18 January Classes begin
Friday 29 January Edinburgh 3-day weekend ǂ
Saturday 13 February Harry Potter Studio Tour day trip ǂ
Thursday 1 April Study Abroad Gala Farewell Celebration
Friday 9 April Classes end
Monday 10 to Friday 25 April Spring vacation
Monday 26 April to Friday 14 May Semester 2 Exam Period
Monday 17 May Final coursework deadline for modules without exams
Saturday 22 May (by 10am) Final University accommodation check-out for Full Year and Semester 2 students
Monday 14 Publication of results: transcripts for Semester 2 and Full-Year students will be released from this date

ǂ Items marked with this symbol denote the optional social programme. Details of the costs for this programme are found under the study abroad social programme page. You can choose to join all of the social activities or sign up for individual events. Details on how to sign up for events are also given on the social programme page.

*Please note: Students will be invited to attend a welcome party on either the Wednesday or Thursday of orientation week. We will advise students which date they have been allocated to during the orientation.

** The offering may be subject to change and our ability to offer this aspect of the programme will be conditional on safety advice relating to the Covid19 pandemic

The application deadline for Summer 2021 is 1 May 2021.

Session one (Saturday 12 June – Saturday 3 July 2021)

Date Event
Saturday 12 June 2021 University accommodation check-in (from 2pm onwards)
Monday 14 June 2021

8.30–11.30am: Enrolment

12–1.30pm: Orientation

1.30–2.30pm: Lunch

2.30–4.30pm: Teaching

Tuesday 15 June 2021 10am–3pm: Teaching
Wednesday 16 June 2021

10am–3pm: Teaching

(classes in television and photography will last until 6pm on this day)

Thursday 17 June 2021 10am–2pm: Teaching
Note: On all other days in Week 2 and Week 3, teaching is from 10am–2pm. The only exceptions are classes in television and photography which have a full day of teaching on Wednesdays (until 5pm). 
Thursday 1 July 2021 Teaching ends
Thursday 1 July 2021 Mid-programme and session one farewell boat party (5–8pm)
Saturday 3 July 2021 Session one university accommodation check-out (by 10am)
Thursday 9 September 2021 Transcript release

Session two (Saturday 3 July – Saturday 24 July 2021)

Date Event
Saturday 3 July 2021 University accommodation check-in (from 2pm onwards)
Monday 5 July 2021

8.30–11.30am: Enrolment (Session 2 students only)

12–1.30pm: Orientation (Session 2 students only)

1.30–2.30pm: Lunch

2.30–4.30pm: Teaching

Tuesday 6 July 2021 10am–3pm: Teaching
Wednesday 7 July 2021

10am–3pm: Teaching

(classes in television and photography will last until 6pm on this day)

Thursday 8 July 2021 10am–2pm: Teaching
Note: On all other days in Week 2 and Week 3, teaching is from 10am–2pm. The only exceptions are classes in television and photography which have a full day of teaching on Wednesdays (until 5pm). 
Thursday 22 July 2021 Teaching ends
Thursday 22 July 2021 Gala farewell reception for all students from 5pm 
Saturday 24 July 2021 All students University accommodation check-out (by 10am)
Thursday 9 September 2021 Transcript release

Classes are taught from Monday to Thursday.

In Week 1, the teaching schedule is the following:

  • Monday: 2.30–4.30pm
  • Tuesday: 10am–3pm
  • Wednesday: 10am–3pm (the exceptions are classes in photography and television which will have a full day of teaching on Wednesday – until 6pm on this day)
  • Thursday: 10am–2pm

In Week 2 and Week 3, the classes are taught in the morning from 10am to 2pm, Monday to Thursday (the exceptions are classes in photography and television which will have a full day of teaching on Wednesday – until 5pm).

Social programme dates and details are available on our social programme page.

Phase 1 – Provisional dates

Date Event
Thursday 10 September 2020 (TBC) Education Abroad welcome orientation
Monday 14 September (TBC) English classes begin
Friday 11 December English classes finish
January 2021 – dates TBC Module registration appointments

Phase 2

Date Event
Monday 18 January 2021 Academic module classes begin
Friday 9 April Classes end
Saturday 10 April - Sunday 25 April Spring vacation
Monday 26 April to Friday 14 May Semester 2 Exam Period
Monday 17 May Final coursework deadline for modules without exams

*Please note: Students will be invited to attend a welcome party on either the Wednesday or Thursday of orientation week. We will advise students which date they have been allocated at the registration appointment.