The Polytechnic Secondary School
Quintin Hogg announced his intentions to start a day school for boys aged 8-17 in November 1885. He wanted to make use of the empty rooms at the Poly during the daytime. Hogg had clear and innovative ideas about the kind of education to be provided- all boys were to have a solid training in practical and technical as well as academic subjects, and of course swimming, drill and gymnastics were part of the curriculum. School boys could use all the facilities of Regent Street, which provided an unconventional setting for a school. Many old boys remember starting the school day with an assembly in the cinema.
The name of the school was not consistently defined in this period. It was usually referred to as the Boys’ Day School although its activities were often simply recorded in the Polytechnic Magazine as ‘Quintinians’. The first official name was conferred in 1946 when it was rechristened The Quintin School.
During World War Two the School was evacuated to Minehead in Somerset. The central London location of the Poly meant that the threat of bombing was very real and the Queen’s Hall across Regent Street was destroyed by bombs in 1941. In Minehead they shared the county school’s premises and the boys lived both with families and in hostel accommodation. For city boys, living in the Somerset countryside was a unique and novel experience
The School remained evacuated for the duration of the war and afterwards was unable to return to 309 Regent Street due to lack of space. The Poly Governors were unable to provide the school with the premises required by law and the school came under the direct control of the London County Council. In 1956 it moved to St John’s Wood and in 1969 merged with the Kynaston Technical School to become the Quintin Kynaston School.