Facts and figures


University of Westminster

Former names: Regent Street Polytechnic, Royal Polytechnic Institution, The Polytechnic, Polytechnic of Central London

About us

The University of Westminster boasts a vibrant learning environment attracting more than 20,000 students from over 150 nations and we continue to invest in our future with new developments, research projects and new ideas.

We offer highly attractive practice-based courses that are independently rated as excellent, many with international recognition. Our distinguished 175-year history has meant we lead the way in many areas of research, particularly politics, media, art and design, architecture and biomedical sciences, and our position in the city of London allows us to continue to build on our close connections with leading figures and organisations in these areas as well as in the worlds of business, information technology, politics and law.

Our commitment to educating graduates for the needs of professional life attracts high quality students from within the UK and around the globe.

Internationalisation, employability and sustainability are key elements in the University of Westminster’s vision for the future and we strive to ensure the very highest standards are met and maintained.


The University of Westminster is a public research university located in London, United Kingdom. Founded in 1838 as the Royal Polytechnic Institution, it is one of Britain's oldest higher education institutions and was the first polytechnic to open in the UK. 

The University of Westminster has four campuses: three in central London and one in north-west London.

The University has a proud history of internationalisation and international collaboration. We have been recognised in recent Times Higher Education rankings as one of the most international universities in the world both for ‘International Outlook’ and the percentage of our international students.

The University has cooperative international partnerships and global research links around the world. The University also has a number of long-standing relationships, including Westminster International University in Tashkent (WIUT) which was founded in 2002 in Uzbekistan.

We are an active participant in the Erasmus Plus programme, the European University Association, Association of Commonwealth Universities, London Higher Europe and London Higher International. Westminster is also a member of the SGroup European Universities Network which facilitates the development of pan-European collaborations.

The University has close working relationships with our neighbouring London institutions through associations such as London Higher, and with HEIs across the UK through Universities UK

Our undergraduate and postgraduate courses are recognised and accredited by over 50 leading professional bodies and Westminster is a member of the Association of MBAs.