Information regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and research projects.

Research framework

Research at Westminster is managed and conducted within a framework of policy, regulation and good practice for which the Research Committee is responsible. This framework consists of a suite of inter-related documents that should be read in conjunction with each other and our strategy documents.

Research integrity

The University has produced an Annual Narrative Statement focused on its work in the area of research integrity which provides useful information to both researchers and the public who are interested in finding out how the University conducts its research to the highest standards. Read our Research Integrity Annual Narrative statements below.

Annual statements

The University is committed to conducting its research in accordance to the principles identified by the Nolan Committee on Standards in Public Life and the principles of the Concordat to Support Research Integrity:

The University point of contact for research governance related policies and codes (including research integrity) is Huzma Kelly at .

More information can be found on the following pages:

Public interest disclosure (Whistleblowing Policy)

Research Data Management Policy

Managing allegations of research misconduct

Download the Staff research misconduct procedure below.

Download the Student research misconduct regulations below.

The operation of these procedures will be overseen by Andrew Linn or Malcolm Kirkup who will act as the “Named Person” under the procedure. In the absence of the Named Person an Alternate will be nominated.

For the student misconduct procedure or queries, the first point of contact is Academic Standards at and for the staff misconduct procedure enquiries, please contact the Research Office at .

Intellectual Property

For more information on Intellectual Property (IP), including the University's IP policy, go to our Intellectual property rights page.

Research ethics

University Research Ethics Committee (UREC)

The University is guided by the fundamental principle that research involving humans and/or animals and/or the environment should involve no more than minimal risk of harm to physical or psychological well-being.

The University Research Ethics Committee oversees the ethical conduct of research, in line with the University’s Code of Practice Governing the Ethical Conduct of Research, referred to from herein as the ‘Code’.

Download the University’s Code of Practice Governing the Ethical Conduct of Research below.

Download the Terms of Reference and Membership and Composition below.

The University Research Ethics Committee has delegated authority to consider and approve certain types of research (as defined by the Code) to College Research Ethics Committees.

For routes an application for Research Ethics review should take, depending on classification, download the table below.

The University Research Ethics Committee also has responsibility to oversee the training and development of staff and students in the area of Research Ethics. Further information can be found on the staff intranet (University log-in required).

Application process and forms for research ethics review

The process for consideration, review and approval within the University can be found in Addendum A of the Code below.

Applications for research ethics review for all University of Westminster Staff and Students should be made via the Virtual Research Environment system using University log-in credentials. Supervisors of taught undergraduates are able to submit an application on behalf of their student.

Information on research which involves an external organisation or which requires research ethics consideration and approval from an external organisation, or management permission from an external organisation, can be found in Sections 3 and 13–15 of the Code below.

Human Tissue Act (2004)

College research ethics committee contacts

College Chair Secretary
DCDI Dr Anthony Mcnicholas TBC
Liberal Arts and Sciences Aurora Voiculescu Mandy Walton
Westminster Business School Petar Sudar Helen Turner