Gina Miller delivered the keynote speech at the award ceremony hosted in the Regent Street Cinema.

Organised by the British Journalism Review and the University of Westminster, the Charles Wheeler Award is presented annually to a journalist for outstanding contribution to broadcast journalism.

This year’s winner, Michael Crick, was celebrated at a packed ceremony opened by Professor Roland Dannreuther, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience) and awarded by Marina and Shirin Wheeler.

Gina Miller, campaigner, philanthropist and co-founder of the innovative investment company, SCM Direct delivered the keynote address, followed by an in conversation talk with Professor Steven Barnett, Professor of Communications.

Michael Crick is the Political Correspondent for Channel 4 News. He started his career as a trainee journalist at ITN in 1980 and was a founding member of the Channel 4 News team in 1982. In 1990, he joined the BBC and rose to become political editor of Newsnight in 2007 before returning to Channel 4 News in 2011.

Over the course of his distinguished career Michael has established a reputation for hard-hitting investigative and campaigning journalism, and has won four RTS awards: for his Channel 4 News coverage of the 1988 US election, for his 2002 BBC Panorama programme on Jeffrey Archer, and the prize for Specialist Journalist of the Year in both 2014 and 2018. In 2014 he was also named Political Studies Association Journalist of the Year.

, ,

The Charles Wheeler Award is celebrating its tenth anniversary this year, previous winners include Jeremy Paxman (2009), Jon Snow (2014), George Alagiah (2016) and Lyse Doucet (2017).

Press and media enquiries

Contact us on:

[email protected]