The University of Westminster Distinctiveness Awards took place on 7 June and acknowledged the exceptional contribution of students across all faculties. Among the winners were Westminster Entrepreneurial Society.

The Westminster Entrepreneurial Society scooped one of the three awards within the Volunteering category in recognition of the outstanding performance and engagement with students. The society is run by Westminster Business School students Asya Ghalachyan, Danny Lowney, Kirsten Ingeneeger, Pascal Sabatnig and Rory Sadler.

Commenting on the award, Rory Sadler said: “This award meant a lot to us as a society as our commitment to voluntarily support aspiring entrepreneurs at the University of Westminster was noticed and appreciated. We aim to compete again for this award next year by going above and beyond our efforts for 2015–16!”

Westminster Entrepreneurial Society is one of the most proactive societies at the University and has organised a number of successful events such as talks by external speakers and idea labs in the past year.

An example is the Accelerate your Future event, which provided future entrepreneurs with insights of how to accelerate the growth of their startup and get it investment ready. The event featured workshops and venture clinics facilitated by some of London’s leading accelerators, angel investors, venture capitalists, and successful entrepreneurs.

The society has also organised a number of idea labs, and live talks with industry experts or prolific entrepreneurs, all with the purpose of helping aspiring student entrepreneurs develop their ideas and gain contacts.

Some of the external speakers have included Cass Fosyth, Brand Manager at Google, Piers Linney, "dragon" in the BBC 2 TV-show Dragons' Den, Richard Pleeth of Sup App, Oliver Bolton, founder of Alibi health drinks and Suzanne Noble, founder of Frugl.

Explore the different societies and sports clubs available to students across the University through the Students’ Union.

Press and media enquiries

Contact us on:

[email protected]