The Graduate School held its first ever 3MT Competition on Wednesday 5 June 2019.

Three Minute Thesis competition winners

Staff and students from across the University were treated to a nail-biting competition in which the contestants presented an overview of their research project against the clock!

With only one static PowerPoint slide to complement their 3-minute presentation, seven doctoral researchers competed to impress the audience and an invited panel of judges who all enjoyed a very engaging, informative and uplifting afternoon. 

The event provides a unique opportunity for doctoral researchers to talk about their research, its wider relevance and potential impact, to a wide range of people including non-specialists – an important skill for successful researchers.

The contestants

There was strong representation from the School of Computer Science and Engineering and the GS benefited from the advice of Dr Alexander Bolotov, which informed initial planning for the event.

Special thanks goes to all our 2019 contestants for their dedication and enthusiasm, which made it such a great event.

Three minute thesis contestants


Mahmoud Aldraimli
School of Computer Science and Engineering

Zain Aziz
School of Life Sciences

Kobina Bedu-Addo
School of Media and Communication

Penny Clark
School of Architecture and Cities

Deepika Dua
School of Computer Science and Engineering

Mamfe-ter Germade
School of Computer Science and Engineering

Megan Sharkey
School of Architecture and Cities

The judges

Three minute thesis judges


Professor Andrew Linn, Head of College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research, University of Westminster

Professor Simon Joss, Professor of Urban Futures, School of Social and Political Sciences, University of Glasgow

Professor Brendon Noble, Head of School of Life Sciences, University of Westminster

Professor Kester Rattenbury, School of Architecture and Cities, University of Westminster

The winners

The judges were highly impressed with the quality of all the presentations. The Judges’ Winner was Megan Sharkey, PhD student in the School of Architecture and Cities, with her presentation, entitled “It’s Just not Good Enough!” Megan’s research focuses on working effectively with governing bodies, organisations and communities to speed up sustainable environmental improvements. 

Megan Sharkey and Andrew Linn


Megan received a prize of £500 and her presentation will be submitted to the national 3MT semi-final competition, representing the University of Westminster. We wish her the best of luck!

The audience voted for the People’s Choice, and their winner was Zain Aziz, with his presentation entitled “Ideonella Sakaiensis: The Solution to our Plastic Pollution?” Zain is a PhD student in the School of Life Sciences. His research is exploring how a bacterium might contribute significantly to the removal of plastic waste. Zain received a prize of £100.

Zain Aziz and Andrew Linn


Professor Andrew Linn, the Chair of the Judging Panel, congratulated all the contestants and presented them with a copy of Origins (How the Earth Made Us), by Lewis Dartnell, Professor of Science Communication at the University of Westminster.

Three Minute Thesis contestants receiving prizes

The competition is just one event informed by the rich training and development opportunities offered to our doctoral researchers by the Graduate School.

We hope to coach even more doctoral researchers next year as we look forward to the GS 3MT Competition 2020!

See a PDF copy this year’s 3MT Competition Programme.

Press and media enquiries

Contact us on:

[email protected]