The University of Westminster’s Department of Architecture has awarded 38 students with over £13,000 worth of prizes.

The awards ceremony, which took place during the department’s OPEN 2016 end of year exhibition, celebrated the achievements of outstanding pupils from the Architecture and Interior Architecture courses.

This year a new award, The James Phillips Architectural Travel Prize, was presented to Architecture MA student Zihini Poh. The prize, which offers one student the opportunity to travel abroad taking photographs of inspiring architecture, was enabled by The James Phillips Foundation.

The Foundation was set up in memory of James Phillips, an architect about to embark on his final year of professional studies at the University of Westminster, but who unfortunately passed away the day before he was due to start.

Graham Phillips, Trustee of the Foundation and James’ father, commented that: “The James Phillips Foundation is honoured that such a prestigious School of Architecture has facilitated this prize for young architects passionate about travel and photography.”

Bilal Rawat presented prizes to the three winning students for the Best Design Project from the Architecture MA course. The Shoaib Mahmad Rawat Award was set up in memory of Shoaib with support from the Rawat family. Joe Armstrong, Pete Simpson and Damien Clayton all won the award.

Linzi Cassels, Design Director from Perkins+Will, also judged and presented the winners of the VOLA Prize for Interior Architecture. The award was won by Laura Metcalfe, Linda Tentori, Aseil Amgheib and Esther Nieto Navas. VOLA UK, long term partners of the University, have similarly renewed and increased their support of the award. 

Other awards included the DETAIL Award, which was won by Daniel McNally, Alexander Shackleton, Laylac Shahed, Andreea-Laura Nica and Alice Thompson. The Robin Partington Partnership Sponsorship, two awards supported by Robin Partington and Partners, saw the Dissertation award go to by Elise Alden, Tima Oladeji, Matthew Deeming and Francesca Harding and the Material Practice awards, won by Zaidoon Adel, Asa Vassallo, Kiril Georgiev, Andreea-Laura Nica and Mihai Chiriac.

Guests had the opportunity to explore the newly refurbished design studios filled with works and models created by students across both undergraduate and postgraduate Architecture courses in the company of students, alumni, and supporters of the University.

OPEN 2016, the Department of Architecture’s end of year exhibition of student work, ran from 16-28 June 2016 at the Marylebone campus.  

Find out more about Architecture at the University of Westminster.

Images from the awards ceremony


Press and media enquiries

Contact us on:

[email protected]