The Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment held a special event on Tuesday 17 June to celebrate the achievements of its outstanding students.

With thanks to a number of supporters these students were awarded prizes in recognition of their outstanding work. Guests gathered among a special pop-up exhibition of coat-stands, designed by 1st year Architectural Technology students, at the University’s Marylebone Campus. Friends, family and supporters also had the opportunity to visit the Department of Architecture’s end of year exhibition, Open 2014.

Professor David Dernie, Dean of the Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment, opened the evening by welcoming staff, students and guests to the refurbished Marylebone campus.

The winners of Westminster’s International Design Competition, run with the National Association of Students of Architecture (NASA) India, were presented with their award at the reception. The competition, with the theme ‘Latitudes – design for sustainable neighbourhoods’, sought to encourage innovative and creative solutions to local issues of sustainable development. It has started a dialogue with architecture students in India to elaborate their role in dealing with climate responsive design in building sustainable neighbourhoods. Entries to the competition were received from students of architecture all over India, with the winning team from Chandigarh visiting Westminster from 16–20 June.

In the presence of his family, Bilal Rawat presented the Shoaib Mahmad Rawat Award to the three winning students for the best design project in the Master of Architecture. The award was set up in 2010 in memory of Bilal’s brother Shoaib, a former student of architecture, with generous support from the Rawat family, friends, fellow alumni and Grimshaw Architects where Shoaib spent most of his professional life.

We welcomed Amaya Eastman from VOLA to present awards to Interior Architecture BA students, which were judged by Linzi Cassels, Principal at Pringle Brandon Perkins + Will. The VOLA Prizes for Interior Architecture are now in their 3rd year and we are very grateful to VOLA for their ongoing support of this award.

We are delighted that Detail Magazine continues to support both undergraduate and post graduate architecture students. For the last 4 years they have provided annual subscriptions to students for the Best Architecture Design Detail in each year of the Architecture BA and the Master of Architecture courses.

Open 2014, the Department of Architecture’s end of year exhibition of student work, opened on 12 June and will remain on display until 4 July 2014 (open daily between 9am and 9pm).

A selection of images from the event

, ,

© Joanne O'Brien

The winners

Drawing prize presented by BDP

  • Christos Kakouros

Drawing prize presented by Burrel Foley Fischer

  • Christos Kakouros

VOLA prize for best overall portfolio in BA Interior Architecture

  • 3rd year winner: Cerise Day
  • 2nd year winner: Elaine Hardy
  • 1st year winner: Laura Metcalfe

The Shoaib Mahmad Rawat Student Award for the Best Design Project in the Master of Architecture (RIBA II)

  • 1st prize: Ioannis Halkiopoulos
  • 2nd prize: Amy Conneely
  • 3rd prize: Mihail-Andrei Jipa

Detail Magazine Architecture Student Award for Best Architecture Design Detail

  • Aylem Boyraz (year 1)
  • Oleander Omega (year 1)
  • Martynas Kasiulevicius (year 1)
  • Patrycja Kurasinska (year 2)
  • Mubarak Khan (year 3)
  • Michelle Jayne Evans (MA, year 1)
  • Oliver Andrew (MA, year 2)

Winners of the International Design Competition (in conjunction with the National Association of Students of Architecture, India)

  • Ankita Thakur
  • Ishita Bhatnagar
  • Gunmeet Singh Grewal
  • Sowmya Singh

CLAWSA Prizes for the Best Portfolio in First Year Architecture BA/BSc Honours and First Year Master of Architecture (RIBA II)

  • BA architecture year 1 best portfolio: Ionna Ghergel
  • MArch year 1 best portfolio: Liam Atkins

Winners of the best project in each MArch studio

  • 1st prize: Iannis Halkiopoulos in DS16
  • 2nd prize: Amy Conneely in DS14
  • 3rd prize: Mihail-Andrei Jipa in DS 10

Press and media enquiries

Contact us on:

[email protected]