The School of Architecture and the Built Environment held a special event on Tuesday 18 June to celebrate the achievements of 23 of its outstanding students. With thanks to a number of supporters, these students were awarded prizes in the newly refurbished Marylebone Campus. Friends, family and supporters also had the opportunity to visit the Department of Architecture’s end of year exhibition, Open 2013.

Professor David Dernie, Dean of the School of Architecture and the Built Environment, opened the evening by welcoming staff, students and guests to the refurbished Marylebone campus, and sharing the recent news that the Architecture Department has been voted second best in the UK by the highly respected professional publication Architects’ Journal.

The winners of Westminster’s International Design Competition, run with the National Association of Students of Architecture (NASA) India, were presented with their award at the awards evening. The competition, with the theme ‘Environmental Stress’, sought to encourage innovative and creative solutions to local issues of sustainable development. Entries were received from students of architecture all over India, with the winning team from Chennai visiting Westminster from 17–25 June. The student entries shortlisted for the award, including the winning entry, are being exhibited on the ground floor at Westminster’s Marylebone Campus.

Once again we welcomed Chris Brandon, founder of Pringle Brandon, to judge and present awards to the winners of the VOLA Prize for Interior Architecture now in its third year. We are very grateful to both Pringle Brandon and VOLA for their on-going support of this award.

In the presence of his family, Bilal Rawat presented prizes to the three winning students for the best design project in the Master of Architecture. The Shoaib Mahmad Rawat Award was set up in 2010 in memory of Shoaib with generous support from the Rawat family, Grimshaw Architects - where Shoaib spent most of his professional life, and friends and fellow alumni. The appeal to keep the award continuing for the future is still open at Just Giving.

We are delighted that Detail Magazine continues to generously support the Department of Architecture with free subscriptions for our students. These were awarded to the students with the Best Architecture Design Detail in each year of the Architecture BA and the Master of Architecture courses.

Open 2013, the Department of Architecture’s end of year exhibition of student work, opened on 13 June and will remain on display until 05 July 2013 (open daily between 9am and 9pm).

A selection of images from the event

, ,

The awards

VOLA prize for best overall portfolio in Interior Architecture BA (Hons)
Year One: Bhavini Asawla
Year Two: Matthew Grand
Year Three: Zuzana Hozakova

The Shoaib Mahmad Rawat Student Award for the Best Design Project in the Master of Architecture (RIBA II)
First Prize: Christine Peters
Second Prize: Patrick Massey
Third Prize: Alex Haggart

Detail Magazine Architecture Student Award for Best Architecture Design Detail
Architecture BA (Hons), Year One: Kyriakos Eleftheriadis and Daniel Phillips
Architecture BA (Hons), Year Two: Pawel Uczciwek
Architecture BA (Hons), Year Three: Panagiota Kotsovinou
Master of Architecture (RIBA II), Year One: Darren Grist
Master of Architecture (RIBA II), Year Two: Christina Christodoulidou

Drawing Prize
Kishan Bhopal and Fergus Seccombe, Architecture BA (Hons)
Owen Dore and Sophia Cole, Master of Architecture (RIBA II)

CLAWSA Prize for the Best Portfolio in First Year Architecture BA Honours and First Year Master of Architecture (RIBA II)
Luc Sanciaume, Architecture BA (Hons)
Matthew Stewart, Master of Architecture (RIBA II)

Bannister Fletcher Award for Best Dissertation in Master of Architecture (RIBA II)
Harriet Partridge
Harriet Jenkins
Simhika Rao

Association of Tourism in Higher Education (ATHE) Best Student Award
Michelly Dall’ava, Tourism with Business BA (Hons)

Michelly also received the Dean’s letter along with fellow student Pippa Taylor (Tourism and Planning BA) in recognition of their excellent work.

Winners of the International Design Competition (in conjunction with the National Association of Students of Architecture, India)
Swatti Ravichandran
Anisha Murali
Archna Meno
Innisai Rajasaba
(From Anna University Chennai)

Press and media enquiries

Contact us on:

[email protected]