The Department of Architecture held a special event on Tuesday 19 June to celebrate the achievements of 22 of its outstanding students. With thanks to a number of supporters, these students were awarded prizes at the Department’s end of year exhibition, Open 2012, in the company of family, friends and supporters.

We were delighted once again to welcome Chris Brandon, founder of Pringle Brandon, to judge and present awards to the winners of the VOLA Prize for Interior Architecture. We would like to thank Pringle Brandon for their support of the exhibition, and VOLA for providing the prize and offering our students the opportunity to display their work in their offices later this year.

On behalf of his family, Bilal Rawat presented prizes to the three winning students for the best design project in the newly renamed Master of Architecture (previously Graduate Diploma in Architecture). The Shoaib Mahmad Rawat Award was set up in memory of Shoaib with generous support from the Rawat family, Grimshaw Architects where Shoaib spent most of his professional life, and friends and fellow alumni. The appeal to keep the award continuing in the future is still open.

Detail Magazine continues to generously support the Department of Architecture with free subscriptions for the students with the Best Architecture Design Detail in each year of the Architecture BA and the Master of Architecture courses.

With thanks to PRP Architects, a new award was presented this year to one student for the Best Drawing in Show and Harris Calnan Construction provided support for the presentation of Design Studio 17 in the exhibition.

Open 2012, the department of architecture’s end of year exhibition of student work, opened on 14 June and will remain on display until 30 June 2012 (open daily between 10am and 9pm).

A selection of images from the event

, ,

The awards

VOLA prize for best overall portfolio in Interior Architecture

Year One: Alice Ly, Interior Architecture BA Honours

Year Two: Andrea Bedoya, Interior Architecture BA Honours

Year Three: Georgia Westwood, Interior Architecture BA Honours

The Shoaib Mahmad Rawat Student Award for the Best Design Project in the Master of Architecture (RIBA II)

First Prize: Jack Munro

Second Prize: James Kirk

Third Prize: Nina Shen-Poblete

Detail Magazine Architecture Student Award for Best Architecture Design Detail

Architecture BA/BSc Honours, Year One: Gabriel Meier

Architecture BA/BSc Honours, Year Two: Ozan Toksoz-Blauel

Architecture BA Honours, Year Three: Larisa-Cosmina Bulibasa

Master of Architecture (RIBA II), Year One: Simhika Rao, Scott Lewis, Marilou Valente and Conrad Cherniavsky

Master of Architecture (RIBA II), Year Two: George Hintzen

PRP Architects Student Award for Best Drawing in Show

Paloma R Rua-Figuero, Architecture BSc Honours, Year Three

Drawing Prize

Nicki Whetstone, Master of Architecture (RIBA II), Year Two

CLAWSA Prizes for the Best Portfolio in First Year Architecture BA/BSc Honours and First Year Master of Architecture (RIBA II)


Winner: Sear Nee Ng


Winner: Pete Hinchliffe
Runner-up commendation:  Alexander Haggart


(Winner to be selected in September)

Jessica Klein

Robert Percy

Anthony Powis

Press and media enquiries

Contact us on:

[email protected]