The Centre for Research and Education in Arts and Media (CREAM) is hosting a two-day conference that will celebrate and critically explore the work and legacy of Chantal Akerman. 

The event will mark the anniversary of the filmmaker’s death and also of the UK’s first retrospective exhibition of her installation work at Ambika P3, University of Westminster, which opened in October 2015.

Conference dates: 
4pm Friday 4 November – 5.15pm Sunday 6 November 2016

Conference venues:
309 Regent Street, London W1B 2UW
35 Marylebone Road, London NW1 5LS

Confirmed keynotes and invited speakers

  • Janet Bergstrom (UCLA)
  • Sandy Flitterman-Lewis (Rutgers University)
  • Dominique Païni, (Paris)
  • Griselda Pollock (University of Leeds)
  • Adam Roberts (A Nos Amours)
  • Corinne Rondeau (University of Nimes)
  • Jean-Pierre Salgas (Paris)
  • Marion Schmid (University of Edinburgh)

Speakers will critically explore both how Akerman disrupted the polemics of art and cinema, and the lasting effects of her work. Papers will address Akerman’s work directly or explore work influenced by her, examining themes such as fiction and non-fiction, archetypes, the nomadic, sound, installation, theory and legacy.

About Chantal Akerman

Akerman contributed greatly to challenging the perceptions of film and cinema. Her work explored themes that included the everyday, domestic labour, psychoanalysis, migration and displacement. She is seen as a pioneer in embracing the gallery space as a filmmaker and she contributed to the expanded cinematic form, experimenting with reflexivity, cinematic time and the frame. She worked across countries, sites and cultures as well as pre-defined conceptual, epistemological or political categories. Her method of working was distinctive in its blurring margins and crossing genres. She refused to be identified as any single ‘type’ of filmmaker, while contributing greatly to our contemporary understanding of film.


Friday 4 November 2016

309 Regent Street, London W1B 2UW


Welcome: Professor Kerstin Mey, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Westminster School of Media, Arts and Design; Rosie Thomas, Director of Centre for Research and Education in Arts and Media (CREAM), University of Westminster; Michael Mazière, Reader in Film and Video, and Curator of Ambika P3, University of Westminster; Adam Roberts, Filmmaker and Curator of A Nos Amours

Keynote: Professor Janet Bergstrom (UCLA)


Saturday 5 November 2016

35 Marylebone Road, London NW1 5LS

Late registration

Panel 1: Identities and Archetypes

Chair: Marion Schmid (University of Edinburgh)
Jean-Pierre Salgas, Professeur à l'École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs; Jenny Chamarette, Senior Lecturer in Film Studies at Queen Mary University of London; Ruth Novaczek, Advisor, Transart Institute, and Visiting Research Fellow, CREAM, University of Westminster; and Heike Klippel, Professor of Film Studies at the Braunschweig University of Arts

Tea and coffee

Keynote: Professor Griselda Pollock (University of Leeds)


Panel 2: Nomads and Territories

Chair: Angela McRobbie (Goldsmiths College)
Corinne Rondeau, Reader in Aesthetics and Sciences of Art, Université de Nîmes; Carla Maia, Associate Professor, UNA University Centre, Brazil; and Nadine Boljkovac, Senior Lecturer in Film, Falmouth University; Andrea Thoma, Lecturer, School of Design, University of Leeds

Panel 3: Fiction and Documentary

Chair: Alisa Lebow (University of Sussex)
Alison Rowley, Reader in Cultural Theory, School of Art, Design and Architecture, University of Huddersfield; Marion Schmid, Professor of French Literature and Film, University of Edinburgh; Roberta Veiga, Associate Professor, Department of Social Communication, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil (UFMG); Philip Cartelli, Researcher, Institut de Recherche Interdisciplinaire sur des Enjeux Sociaux (IRIS-EHESS), Paris; Mariangela Ciccarello, Visual Artist and Filmmaker

Tea and coffee

Panel 4: Legacies for the Future

Chair: Janet Bergstrom (UCLA)
Dominique Païni, Writer, Film producer and Curator;  Ros Murray, Lecturer in French Studies, King's College London; Sanghita Sen, PhD Student, Department of Film Studies, University of St. Andrews; and Anthony Paraskeva, Senior Lecturer in English, University of Roehampton

Sunday 6 November 2016

35 Marylebone Road, London, NW1 5LS

Panel 5: Sound, Voice and Music

Chair: Michael Goddard (University of Westminster)
Adam Roberts, Filmmaker and Curator of A Nos Amours; Hasmik Gasparyan, Filmmaker and doctorate student, University of York; Albertine Fox, Junior Research Fellow at Churchill College, Cambridge; and Corina Copp, writer and artist

Tea and coffee

Keynote: Professor Sandy Flitterman-Lewis (Rutgers University)


Panel 6: Theory and Subjectivity

Chair: Lucy Reynolds (University of Westminster)
Maria Walsh, Reader in Artists’ Moving Image at Chelsea College of Arts, UAL; Laura Staab, King’s College London; Azadeh Fatehrad, Royal College of Art; and Adriana Cerne, Curator, Leyden Gallery, London

Panel 7: Space and Installation

Chair: Michael Mazière (University of Westminster)
Jacqui Usiskin, Yukon Arts Centre, Graduate of MSt History of Art and Visual Culture, University of Oxford; Giulia Magno, MA Film Curating, Birkbeck, University of London; Kate Rennebohm, PhD candidate, Film and Visual Studies program, Harvard University; and Alexa Seligman, Moving Image Artist & Line Langebek, Screenwriter

Tea and coffee

Roundtable: Hogg Lecture Theatre

Chair: Rosie Thomas (University of Westminster)
Griselda Pollock, Adam Roberts, Michael Mazière, Sandy Flitterman-Lewis, Janet Bergstrom and Dominique Païni

Roundtable (details TBC)

Conference tickets

£43 (£22 students and unemployed)

Registration fee includes teas and coffees in the breaks, as well as the opening night drinks reception.

Lunches and dinners will not be provided. You can buy these on campus or at the many food outlets near to both campuses.">Register on Eventbrite

Conference programme

Download the full Conference Programme (PDF).

Conference team

Michael Mazière, Rosie Thomas, Lucy Reynolds, May Ingawanij, Treasa O’Brien, Aislinn White. Conference administrator: Karen Foster