The Diploma in Public Service Interpreting (DPSI) is a professional interpreting qualification.

It is a postgraduate-level professional diploma offered by the IoL Educational Trust (IoLET).

Why take it?

The DPSI qualification provides you with a valuable entry point in the world of professional interpreting.

The diploma is designed to assess your proficiency in a number of skills: consecutive and simultaneous interpreting, sight translation and translation.

If you pass the exam you can add the title 'DPSI' after your name, and you can apply for membership with the Chartered Institute of Linguists and apply for registration on the National Register of Public Service Interpreters.

If you hold the DPSI you are normally exempt from taking the Diploma in Police Interpreting if you want to work as an interpreter for the police.

Who is it for?

The DPSI qualification is for interpreters who want to work in legal (courts, solicitors, immigration), medical (hospital, clinics, GP practices) or local government (housing, social work, education).

You can take it in the following pathways:

  • English Law
  • Scottish Law
  • Northern Irish Law
  • Health
  • Local Government

To be able to take the DPSI exam you must first become an IoLET Affiliate of CIOL. For further information please visit the CIOL website on affiliates.

The DPSI exam

To obtain the DPSI you must sit an exam, which takes place every year in June and is composed of the following units:

  • Unit 1: interpret consecutively and simultaneously (whispered) in the public services
  • Unit 2: provide a sight translation into English in the public services
  • Unit 3: provide a sight translation from English in the public services
  • Unit 4: translate into English in the public services
  • Unit 5: translate from English in the public services

DPSI dates 2017

  • 19–23 June 2017: oral units
  • 27 June 2017: written units

DPSI fees 2017


By hand

By computer

Unit 1 (oral)



Unit 2 (oral)



Unit 3 (oral)



Unit 4 (written)



Unit 5 (written)



Full registration fee (all units)



Unit 2 (oral) + Unit 3 (oral)



Unit 4 (written) + Unit 5 (written)



Register for the exam

Registration for the 2017 exam has closed.