

EQUALITY, DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION COMMITTEE

Terms of reference 2023/24

Purpose of Committee

The purpose of the EDI Committee is to make recommendations to the University Executive Board with regard to the strategic direction, priorities and objectives for EDI at the University; to support university-wide engagement with EDI; and to help enable the development and delivery of EDI programmes of work and action plans.

Specifically, the EDI Committee will:

- 1. Make recommendations to UEB on the strategic direction, priorities and objectives for EDI at the University, recognising that EDI impacts upon everyone within the University.
- 2. Support the delivery and implementation of EDI strategy, priorities and objectives, ensuring alignment with other relevant strategies.
- 3. Champion the University's commitment to EDI, celebrating that commitment and addressing obstacles to its implementation.
- 4. Review and, where appropriate, challenge EDI-related practices within the University.
- 5. Develop and agree a programme of EDI work and an annual EDI action plan, monitoring and reporting on progress against the plan.
- 6. Commission and review data (qualitative and quantitative) and reports to monitor the University's performance against its EDI strategic objectives, KPIs and plans.
- 7. Make recommendations to UEB with regards to resources required to deliver the EDI objectives, priorities and action plans.
- 8. Support and monitor the University's compliance with the Public Sector Equality Duty and the Equality Act (2010). Review the colleague EDI annual report and biannual equal pay audit and agree submissions to UEB and onwards to the Court of Governors.
- Respond to consultations on University strategies and policies as specified in the University's Strategy and Policy matrix and support the embedding of EDI in all University strategies and policies.
- 10. Review and recommend to the Court of Governors the University's EDI Policy.
- 11. Encourage and support EDI initiatives coming from all parts of the University.
- 12. Facilitate formal and informal structures for University-wide engagement on EDI matters.
- 13. Support and monitor EDI communications, support and engagement.
- 14. Evaluate the effectiveness of the EDI Committee.
- 15. Engage actively with external organisations to horizon scan and share best practice related to EDI.

Membership

Co-Chairs of Committee (2)

UEB member, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor.

A Co-Chair of one of colleague networks, nominated by the Co-Chairs of those networks.

Where possible, membership of the Committee will reflect the University's commitment to EDI.

Ex-officio members (17)

Co-Chairs, BME colleague network (or nominee/s)

Co-Chairs, Colleague Disability network (or nominee/s)

Co-Chairs, Faith, Belief and Spirituality network (or nominee/s)

Co-Chairs, Q+ colleague network (or nominee/s)

Co-Chairs, WoW colleague network (or nominee/s)

Director, Global Recruitment, Admissions, Marketing and Communications

Director, People, Culture and Wellbeing

Director, Student and Academic Services

Head of Culture and Inclusion

Head of Learning and Development

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (People, Culture and Inclusion)

UWSU Head of Student Voice and Engagement (or nominee)

UWSU President (or nominee)

Nominated and elected members (3)

UCU and Unison EDI representatives, nominated by the Unions

Representative of EDI leads in Schools, nominated by the EDI Leads

Representative of EDI lead in professional services

Co-opted members (1)

EDI Officer

Invitees

The Co-Chairs may invite other individuals to be in attendance for relevant agenda items, as required. The Vice-Chancellor and President has a standing invitation to all EDI Committee meetings.

Secretariat

Nominee of the Clerk to the Court of Governors and Head of University Governance

Quorum

A quorum of the EDI Committee will comprise a minimum of 40% of its members including at least one Co-Chair and excluding co-opted members.

Frequency of Meetings

The EDI Committee will meet at least three times a year. Meetings may be held physically, remotely via an online tool (e.g., Microsoft Teams) or through a blended approach. The work of the Committee may be conducted at additional meetings called by a Co-Chair, or outside of meetings by means of electronic communication (e.g., email) or officer action, subject to the approval of a Co-Chair.



EDI COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2023/24

	NAME
NOMINATED CO-CHAIRS	
Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Employability and Global Engagement)	Professor Dibyesh Anand
BME Network Co-Chair	Dr Deborah Husband
EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS	
BME Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Dr Stephen Bunbury
Colleague Disability Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Dr Claire Robertson
Colleague Disability Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Daniela de Silva
Faith, Belief and Spirituality Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Noam Weingarten
Faith, Belief and Spirituality Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Matthew Linfoot
Q+ Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Professor Pippa Catterall
Q+ Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Tabatha Mills
WoW Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Sobia Razzaq
WoW Network Co-Chair (or nominee)	Dr Kumari Juddoo
Director, Global Recruitment, Admissions, Marketing and Communications	Caroline Benyon
Director, People, Culture and Wellbeing	Caragh Molloy
Director, Student and Academic Services	Caroline Lloyd
Head of Culture and Inclusion	Andy Norris
Head of Learning and Development (Interim)	Pelagia Mashumba
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (People, Culture and Inclusion)	Vacant
UWSU Head of Student Voice and Engagement (or nominee)	Heather Doon
UWSU President (or nominee)	Taruna Bangia
NOMINATED OR ELECTED MEMBERS	
EDI representative nominated by UCU (or nominee)	Professor Val Gillies
EDI representative nominated by Unison (or nominee)	Janet Smith
EDI Lead in Schools (or nominee)	Vacant
EDI Lead in Professional Service (or nominee)	Vacant
CO-OPTED MEMBERS	
EDI Officer	Rajat Shah
INVITEE	
Vice-Chancellor and President	Professor Peter Bonfield
SECRETARIAT	
Nominee of the Clerk to the Court of Governors and Head of University Governance	Mandy Chan

Note: Quorum (40% of 23) = 10 members including at least one Co-Chair and excluding co-opted members