UNIVERSITY OF FORWARD THINKING WESTMINSTER#

ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP 2023/24

EX-OFFICIO

1. Vice-Chancellor (Chair)	Dr Peter Bonfield		
2. Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Acting Deputy Chair)	Professor Dibyesh Anand		
3. Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Deputy Chair)	Dr Sal Jarvis		
Pro Vice-Chancellor and Head of College			
4. College of Design, Creative and Digital Industries	Professor Janet Jones		
5. College of Liberal Arts and Sciences	Professor Andrew Linn		
6. Westminster Business School	Professor Christos Kalantaridis		
7. Director, Graduate School	Professor Leigh Wilson		
8. Director, Student and Academic Services	Caroline Lloyd		
9. Head of Centre for Education and Teaching Innovation	Dr Andy Pitchford		
10. President, University of Westminster Students' Union	Taruna Bangia		
11. University Secretary and Chief Operating Officer	Ian Wilmot (Interim USCOO)		

ELECTED/NOMINATED		Term of office
Two members of academic staff from each college, ele	cted by the academic sta	ff of that college
12. College of Design, Creative and Digital Industries	Ben Stringer	Mar 2023- Jul 2025 (1 st)
13. College of Design, Creative and Digital Industries	Professor Graham Meikle	Aug 2021-Jul 2024 (2 nd)
14. College of Liberal Arts and Sciences	Stephen Bunbury	Aug 2021-Jul 2024 (1 st)
15. College of Liberal Arts and Sciences	Jane Stonestreet	Aug 2021-Jul 2024 (2 nd)
16. Westminster Business School	Henryetta Simpson	Aug 2022-Jul 2025 (1st)
17. Westminster Business School	Dr Abdelhafid Benamraoui	Aug 2021-Jul 2024 (1 st)
One Head of School, elected by the Heads of School ar	nd Assistant Heads of Sc	hool
18. Head of School	Professor Alexendra Warwick	Aug 2023-Jul 2026 (1 st)
Two currently registered students nominated by the St	udents' Union	
19. Undergraduate	Vacant	
20. Postgraduate	Anastasia Lydaki	Oct 2023 -Jul 2024 (1st)
Two members nominated by the Chair ¹		
21. Associate Head of College or Head of School	Professor Luke Mason	Aug 2021-Jul 2024 (1st)
22. Member of academic staff	Dr Kalpana Surendranath	Aug 2021-Jul 2024 (1 st)

CO-OPTED		
Academic Registrar	David Burt	(Clerk)
Deputy Registrar (Quality and Standards)	Emma Standen	

¹ Appointment of the Chair's nominees is subject to approval of two-thirds of the membership.

SECRETARIAT			
Clerk to the Court of Governors (or nominee)	Mandy Chan	(Secretary)	

Quorum

A quorum of the Academic Council shall comprise a minimum of 40% of the ex-officio, elected and nominated members, including the Chair or a Deputy Chair.

Terms of office

Elected/nominated members shall serve a term of office not exceeding three years commencing 1 August in the year of appointment. Members may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms of office.

Former elected/nominated members cannot rejoin Academic Council as an elected or nominated member until after a period of absence of no less than one year.