Athena SWAN awards recognise and celebrate good practice on recruiting, retaining and promoting women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) in higher education. In May 2015 the Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) expanded the AS charter beyond STEMM disciplines to recognise work undertaken in:

(i) arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL); and

(ii) professional and support roles, and for Trans staff and students. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

There are three award types for the extended charter:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold

Universities that are preparing for submission are required to notify ECU’s Equality charter teams of their intentions to apply two months in advance of the submission deadline (by the end of the last working day of the month).

There are two awards rounds each year – deadlines are the last working days in April and November.

Universities can only apply for awards if they are already Charter members. The new May 2015 Awards Criteria is valid for 4 years, after which they must be renewed.

Universities must achieve a Bronze award before individual departments can apply for recognition in their own right. The logic behind this is that it would be difficult, if not impossible, for a department to sustain an award without university support and underpinning university good practice policies and processes.

At Silver university level, a university must show a significant record of activity and achievement across the full range of STEMM and AHSSBL disciplines.  Applications should focus on what has improved since the Bronze institutional award application, how the university has built on the achievements of, for example award-winning departments, and what the university is doing to help individual departments to apply for Athena SWAN activities.

Departments can apply for Bronze, Silver or Gold department awards.

Award winners can use the appropriate Bronze or Silver logo in their recruitment and publicity materials.

Have a look at the list of current Athena SWAN members and award holders.

Full details and guidance for post-May 2015 awards can be found in the Athena SWAN Guide to Processes.

Athena SWAN Bronze

Our Colleges

  • The College of Design, Creative and Digital Industries
  • The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 
  • Westminster Business School

For more information contact the Athena SWAN project team:

Head of Corporate Social Responsibility
Andy Norris
E: [email protected]
T: +44 (0)7800 860 931   

Leadership and Organisational Development Adviser (Continuous Improvement)
Elizabeth (Liz) Baptiste
E: [email protected]
T: +44 (0)203 506 6370

Visit the Athena SWAN website

Self-Assessment Team (SAT)

A Self-Assessment Team (SAT) was formed to review the University's application leading up to submission for the Bronze institution award, and will continue to review the University's progress against the action plan.


For more information on the SAT contact:

Head of Corporate Social Responsibility
Andy Norris
E: [email protected]
T: +44 (0)7800 860 931

Visit the ECU website